Former Bullfrog Matt Beaty to Play in the AFL


Rochester, Minn. – Starting next week, twenty-eight former Northwoods League players will be competing over the next two months in Arizona against the top players in Minor League Baseball. Nearly 60 percent of AFL players will at some point make a Major League roster.

There are six teams in the Arizona Fall League: Scottsdale Scorpions, Mesa Solar Sox, Salt River Rafters, Glendale Desert Dogs, Peoria Javelinas and the Surprise Saguaros. The names of the teams were picked by Major League Baseball to reflect the Southwestern desert traditions in the state.

The teams are broken into two divisions, East and West and each Major League Baseball team sends six top prospects to the Arizona Fall League. Most of the players are Double-A and Triple-A Minor League players. Each team can choose to send one player considered a Class A player.

The former Northwoods League players and their AFL team are as follows:


Glendale Desert Dogs

Seby Zavala      Kalamazoo ‘14

Kevin Kramer    La Crosse ‘12

Matt Beaty        Alexandria ‘12, Green Bay ‘14

Ka’ai Tom          Wisconsin ‘14


Peoria Javelinas

Bobby Poyner   Madison ‘12

Daniel Young    Wisconsin ‘13, Kenosha ‘14

Eric Filia            Kenosha ‘15

Jared James       Thunder Bay ‘15


Salt River Rafters

James Farris       Brainerd ‘11

Ben Meyer          St. Cloud ‘12

Jon Perrin           Mankato ‘13

Colin Poche         Willmar ‘13

Brian Mundell      Eau Claire ‘14

Steve Wilkerson   La Crosse ‘11


Surprise Saguaros

Chris Paul            St. Cloud ‘12 – ‘14


Mesa Solar Sox

Dakota Bacus        Waterloo ‘11

Nolan Blackwood   Wisconsin Rapids ‘14

Alec Mills              Madison ‘12

Jake Stinnett         Willmar ‘11

Taylor Gushue       Madison ‘12

Nick Tanielu          St. Cloud ‘12

Jason Vosler         Thunder Bay ‘13

Cam Gibson          Battle Creek ‘13


Scottsdale Scorpions

Tim Peterson         Rochester/La Crosse ‘11

D.J. Snelton           Rochester ‘11 – ‘12

Matt Thaiss            Madison ‘14

Kevin Kaczmarski    Waterloo ‘12, ‘14

Troy Montgomery   Kalamazoo ‘14


More information on the Arizona Fall League can be found here: Arizona Fall League