Latest News

Published On: June 6th, 2014

Third baseman Paul DeJong delivered the game-winning hit for Wisconsin in the top of the ninth inning, scoring Alex Cordova from second and propelling the Woodchucks to a 4-1 victory Thursday night at Kapco Park.

‘Chucks’ designated hitter Brendon Hayden followed DeJong’s two-out RBI hit by reaching on an error, scoring two and spotting Wisconsin to the 4-1 advantage.  Max Ising closed out the Chinooks, tallying his third save of the season and ending Lakeshore’s winning streak at seven.

The two clubs were scoreless until the fourth inning, when Woodchucks center fielder Troy Traxler led off with a triple to the gap in left center field.  Traxler scored the first run of the game on Alex Cordova’s sacrifice fly.

Lakeshore answered with a run of their own on catcher Zach Bowers’ solo homerun off ‘Chucks’ reliever Austin Tribby leading off the sixth.  However, Tribby then fired three scoreless frames and picked up the victory, improving to 2-0 on the season.

Tribby was in relief of Connor McFadden, who went the first five innings for the Woodchucks, surrendering no runs on three hits and four walks, while striking out four.

DeJong and Cordova were joined by center fielder Alex Krupa and shortstop C.J. Chatham as Woodchucks with two-hit efforts on the night.

The Woodchucks are back in action on Friday night in the first of a four-game homestand at Athletic Park.  First pitch against the Battle Creek Bombers is scheduled for 7:05 P.M.


The Wisconsin Woodchucks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwood’s League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwood’s League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwood’s League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwood’s League YouTube channel.  For more information, visit