Some of the biggest names in baseball are Northwoods League alumni, having spent one or more summers honing their skills in NWL ballparks. From Cy Young Award Winners, to Rookie of the Year contenders, to Draft picks working their way up the system, Northwoods League alumni are making their mark throughout the game of baseball. There is no better way for amateur players to get a taste of what a career as a baseball player might look like, than to spend a summer in the Northwoods League.


Check out what Northwoods League Alums Chris Sale and Max Scherzer had to say about their experience in the Northwoods League:

Northwoods League Alumni in MLB

Every month of the MLB regular season since September 2014, at least one Northwoods League alum has debuted in the major leagues. That’s quite a streak! To see a complete list of Northwoods League players who have gotten the call, click the image below. NWL Alumni in MLBNorthwoods League Alumni in MLB

Making it onto an MLB roster is a considerable achievement. Staying on the roster is the culmination of hard work, talent, and timing. Finishing the season as a member of the last team standing, well that’s what every big league dream is made of.

Alumni Who’ve Won a World Series
2003 Juan Pierre
2006 Jeff Weaver
2007 Bobby Kielty
2011 Allen Craig, Danny Descalso
2012 Brandon Crawford
2014 Brandon Crawford
2015 Ben Zobrist
2016 Ben Zobrist (MVP)
2017 Derek Fisher
2018 Chris Sale
2019 Max Scherzer
2020 Tony Gonsolin, Austin Barnes, Matt Beaty, Scott Alexander (Taxi Squad), Rocky Gale (Taxi Squad) and Zach McKinstry (Taxi Squad)
2022 David Hensley

Whether voted in by the fans, players or selected by the manager, being an All-Star is a honor. Every year since 2008, the Northwoods League has been represented in the MLB All-Star Game by at least one alum. Who will be there this summer?

Alumni Named to MLB All-Star Team
2008 George Sherrill
2009 Curtis Granderson, Ben Zobrist
2010 Andre Ethier
2011 Curtis Granderson, Andre Ethier
2012 Curtis Granderson, Chris Sale, Mark Melancon
2013 Max Scherzer, Chris Sale, Allen Craig, Ben Zobrist, Jordan Zimmermann, Mark Malancon
2014 Max Scherzer, Chris Sale, Pat Neshek, Jordan Zimmermann
2015 Brandon Crawford, Mark Melancon, Max Scherzer, Chris Sale
2016 Chris Sale, Ben Zobrist, Mark Melancon, Max Scherzer
2017 Chris Sale (starting pitcher), Max Scherzer (starting pitcher), Pat Neshek
2018 Max Scherzer (starting pitcher), Brandon Crawford, Chris Sale (starting pitcher), Mitch Haniger
2019 Max Scherzer, Pete Alonso (Home Run Derby Champion), Paul DeJong, Matt Chapman
2020 No MLB All-Star Game
2021 Max Scherzer (starting pitcher), Pete Alonso (Home Run Derby Champion), Marcus Semien, Brandon Crawford, Mark Melancon
2022 Jose Trevino, Pete Alonso, Tony Gonsolin
Alumni Honors
2009 NL Silver Slugger Andre Ethier
2011 AL Silver Slugger Curtis Granderson
2011 NL Rawlings Gold Glove Andre Ethier
2013 AL Cy Young Max Scherzer
2015 AL Rawlings Gold Glove Kole Calhoun
2015 NL Rawlings Gold Glove Brandon Crawford
2015 NL Silver Slugger Brandon Crawford
2016 NL Cy Young Max Scherzer
2016 NL Rawlings Gold Glove Brandon Crawford
2017 NL Cy Young Max Scherzer
2017 NL Rawlings Gold Glove Brandon Crawford
2018 AL Rawlings Gold Glove Matt Chapman
2018 AL Rawlings Platinum Glove Matt Chapman
2019 NL Rookie of the Year Pete Alonso
2019 AL Rawlings Gold Glove Matt Chapman
2019 AL Rawlings Platinum Glove Matt Chapman
2019 AL Silver Slugger Mitch Garver

Northwoods League Alumni in Professional Baseball

On any given summer night, you can see hundreds of former Northwoods League players chasing their dream in minor league and professional baseball stadiums around the country. To see a complete list of Northwoods League players who have played or are playing professional baseball, click the image below.

Northwoods League Alumni in Professional Baseball

Northwoods League Alumni First Year Player Draft Results

Every June, the baseball world tunes into the MLB First Year Player Draft, including Northwoods League teams and fans. With the wealth of top collegiate talent playing in the League each summer, our fans and teams keep a keen eye on the draft for the favorite former players. And there are typically plenty of celebrations to go around! In recent years, more than 160 alumni have been drafted annually.

2007 Matt Mangini, Thunder Bay (52nd by SEA) View PDF
2008 Brad Holt, La Crosse (33rd by NY-N) View PDF
2009 Tony Sanchez, Battle Creek (4th by PIT) View PDF
2010 Chris Sale, La Crosse (13th by CHI-A) View PDF
2011 Chris Reed, Wisconsin (16th by LA-N) View PDF
2012 Tyler Naquin, Mankato (15th by CLE) View PDF
2013 Hunter Dozier, Willmar (8th by KC) View PDF
2014 Nick Howard, Madison (19th by CIN) View PDF
2015 Alex Young, Lakeshore (43rd by ARI) View PDF
2016 A.J. Puk, Waterloo (6th by OAK) View PDF
2017 Greg Deichmann, Lakeshore (43rd by OAK) View PDF
2018 Nico Hoerner, Madison (24th by CHI-N) View PDF
2019 Bryson Stott, Wisconsin Rapids (14th by PHI) View PDF
2020 Garrett Mitchell, Mankato (20th by MIL) View PDF
2021 Jordan Wicks, Rockford (21st by CHI-N) View PDF
2022 Brooks Lee, Willmar (8th by MIN) View PDF