Latest News

Published On: October 7th, 2014


Fall league showcases the top prospects in Minor League Baseball


Rochester, Minn. – Twenty eight former Northwoods League players will be competing over the next two months in Arizona against the top players in Minor League Baseball.

There are six teams in the Arizona Fall League: the Scottsdale Scorpions, Mesa Solar Sox, Salt River Rafters, Glendale Desert Dogs, Peoria Javelinas and Surprise Saguaros. The names of the teams were picked by Major League Baseball to reflect the Southwestern desert traditions in the state.

The teams are broken into two divisions, East and West and each Major League Baseball team sends six top prospects to the Arizona Fall League. Most of the players are Double-A and Triple-A Minor League players. Each team can choose to send one player considered a Class A player.

The 2014 All-Star Game in Minnesota featured a former AFL alum in the American League's winning pitcher, Max Scherzer who pitched in the Northwoods League in La Crosse with the Loggers in 2004.

The former Northwoods League players and their AFL team are as follows:

Mesa Solar Sox<br />
Austin House	Rochester ‘11<br />
Derek Self	Madison ‘09<br />
Nate Smith	Alexandria ‘11<br />
Tony Renda	St. Cloud ‘09<br />
Cal Towey	Eau Claire ‘10<br />
Arik Sikula	Rochester ’09-‘10<br />
Matt Grace	Alexandria ‘08</p>
<p>Scottsdale Scorpions<br />
Ryan O’Sullivan	 Eau Claire ‘08</p>
<p>Salt River Rafters<br />
Tyler Heineman Wisconsin ‘11<br />
Chris O’Dowd	La Crosse ‘10<br />
Chad Wallach	Rochester ‘12<br />
Andrew	Aplin     St. Cloud ‘10	</p>
<p>Surprise Saguaros<br />
Nick Howard 	      Madison ‘12<br />
Ben Klimesh	     Rochester ‘11<br />
Aaron Kurcz	     Alexandria ‘09<br />
Samuel Wolff	     Wisconsin ‘10<br />
Seth Mejias-Brean   La Crosse ‘10<br />
John Hicks	     Madison ‘09<br />

Glendale Desert Dogs

Mike Thomas    Green Bay ‘10

Nick Ramirez    Rochester ‘09

Scott Schebler  Green Bay ‘10

Blake Smith      Alexandria ‘07

Michael Strong  Rochester ‘10


Peoria Javelinas

Zach Cooper     Waterloo ‘09-‘10

Louis Head                   Eau Claire ‘09

Sam Selman           Mankato ‘10-‘11

Hunter Dozier   Willmar ‘12

Jordan Smith    Willmar ‘10       


More information on the Arizona Fall League can be found at: