Latest News

Published On: November 13th, 2023

Rawlings ‘Big Stick’ Award Winners Announced

Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Rawlings“Big Stick” Award. This award is given to the player at each position who had the best batting average during the 2023 regular season.

Duluth Huskies outfielder Joshua Duarte leads the list of award winners. Duarte earned a Rawlings “Big Stick” by leading the league with an impressive .398 batting average.

Rawlings has been rewarding the top hitters in the Northwoods League since 2007 in addition to honoring the best fielders since 2002. To honor their achievement, the nine award winners will receive an engraved bat from Rawlings. The complete list of 2023 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award Winners is below.
Position Player NWL Team College Batting Average
C Drey Dirksen Willmar Stingers Augustana University .329
1B Kai Roberts Mankato MoonDogs University of Utah .346
2B Michael Hallquist Duluth Huskies University of Minnesota-Crookston.355
3B Dylan O’Connell Eau Claire Express Western Kentucky University .343
SS Elliot Good Waterloo Bucks Central Connecticut State University .337
OF Joshua Duarte Duluth Huskies Georgetown College .398
OF Tyler Ganus Kokomo Jackrabbits University of Oregon .345
OF Dalton Pearson Wausau Woodchucks Georgia State University .339

To be eligible a player would have needed to have enough plate appearances to qualify for a batting title.
A player must have a minimum of 2.7 plate appearances per team game.