DeLoach Named Rawlings ‘Big Stick’ Award Winner


The Northwoods League is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award. This award is given to the player at each position who had the best batting average during the 2018 regular season.

Rawlings has been rewarding the top hitters in the Northwoods League since 2007 in addition to honoring the best fielders since 2002. To honor their achievement, the nine award winners will receive an engraved bat from Rawlings. The complete list of 2018 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award Winners is below.

Position Player NWL Team College Batting Average
C Shane McGuire La Crosse San Diego .337
1B Alex McGarry Rochester Oregon State .318
2B Augie Isaacson Duluth Friends University .364
3B Jordan Swiss Battle Creek Saginaw Valley State .339
SS Jack Dunn Lakeshore Northwestern .316
INF Alex Erro Fond du Lac Northwestern .348
OF Tyler Reichenborn Willmar Iowa Western .327
OF Zach DeLoach Wisconsin Texas A&M .323
OF Jake Randa Madison NW Florida State .318
DH Mike Rothenberg La Crosse Duke .326


To be eligible a player would have needed to have enough plate appearances to qualify for a batting title. A player must have a minimum of 2.7 plate appearances per team game.

Zach DeLoach had a .323 batting average with 17 doubles, one triple, five home runs, 38 RBIs, and ten stolen bases through the 2018 season. He also had a .495 slugging percentage and a .409 on base percentage.