Latest News

Published On: June 8th, 2014

On Sunday, the Chinooks could not overcome the seven errors they committed as a team. The final score at Green Bay was 9-2.

Green Bay took a 3-0 lead in the bottom of the second. Lakeshore starter Evan Kruczynski (East Carolina) surrendered a single to designated-hitter Dennis Colon. Green Bay shortstop Dane Hutcheon reached first on an error by Sterling Koerner (Florida Gulf Coast).

Michael Mierow singled and that scored Colon.  Hutcheon came home on a Matthew De La Rosa basehit.  Mierow also scored.

In the third, Hutcheson reached base again. This time, he hit a single and drove in Ryan Koziol, making it 4-0 Bullfrogs.

Lakeshore responded in the fourth. Center fielder Luke Meeteer (UW-Milwaukee) was hit by his fifth pitch of the season. He stole his tenth base as well. Ryan Krill (Michigan State) had an RBI single that scored Meeteer. The Chinooks trailed 4-1.

The Bullfrogs exploded for five runs in the fifth. Dean Long, Koziol and Colon hit consecutive singles to load the bases. Kruczynski walked Hutcheon to bring in Long. Righty Ryan Radue (Connecticut) entered for the southpaw. He issued a walk to Matthew De La Rosa that scored Koziol. Colon also came across on a fielder’s choice to Matt Beaty. Hutcheon and De La Rosa scored as well.

Chinooks right-fielder Brett Siddall (Canisius) hit a solo homer in the seventh.

Kruczynski lasted four innings. He gave up eight runs (five earned) on nine hits. Radue  went three innings. He struck out two and walked two.

Right-hander G.J. Strauss (Florida Tech) worked a scoreless eighth inning.

Green Bay starting pitcher Corey Fischer tossed six solid innings and got the win. He gave up one run off three hits, and struck out four.

The Chinooks will wrap up their two-game series at Green Bay (7:05 p.m.). They will also travel to play the Madison Mallards on Tuesday (7:05 p.m.), before returning for a six-game home stand Wednesday, June 11.

The Lakeshore Chinooks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League YouTube channel<>. For more information, visit