Kruczynski Cruises, Lakeshore Wins Eighth In A Row

Between efficient starting pitching and eleven team hits, the Chinooks held on to defeat the Loggers 3-2 on Thursday.

Lakeshore won its eighth consecutive game, which tied a franchise record set in July 2014.

East Carolina product Evan Kruczynski tossed six and one-third innings. He gave up no runs off three hits. The left-hander recorded 10 strikeouts as well.

“Coach Moriarty switched up my mechanics earlier this week, and I was a little skeptical coming into a game,” Kruczynski said. “It worked out pretty good in the end, and the defense was stellar behind me again today.”

For his performance, he was named the Northwoods League Pitcher of the Night on July 10.

Catcher Mitch Ghelfi (UW-Milwaukee) led the Chinooks and went 2-4 in the game. He had a single and two-RBI double.

The Chinooks scored all three runs in the first. After one out, right fielder Brett Siddall (Canisius) drew a walk. Loggers starter Ben Cejka gave up back-to-back singles to Brant Valach (Eastern Illinois) and Carter White (Memphis). Siddall came across on an RBI walk issued to Kyle Wood (Purdue). Both Valach and White scored on the double by Ghelfi.

In the eighth, La Crosse put two runs on the board. Third baseman Brody Weiss led off the inning with a double off Chase Radan (UCLA). Aaron Knapp also hit a double. The pair scored on a base hit by Ryne Birk.

Georgia Bulldog Connor Jones pitched one and one-third innings. In his eleventh appearance, he recorded his second save. Jones also had four strikeouts.

The lefty Cejka (1-3) took the loss for the Loggers. In five and two-thirds innings, he surrendered three runs off 10 hits. He walked four and struck out two.

The two teams will meet again on Friday, July 11 at 7:05 p.m. The Chinooks will travel to play at Green Bay on Saturday and Sunday. They have the day off on Monday, July 14, before starting a four-game home stand on July 15.

The Lakeshore Chinooks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League YouTube channel<>. For more information, visit