Lakeshore Tramples La Crosse

The Chinooks had two huge scoring innings, and Evan Kruczynski (East Carolina) was sharp in his third straight start. Lakeshore defeated La Crosse 12-4 on Saturday.

All-Star Brett Siddall (Canisius) went 2-5, scored two runs and hit a grand slam for the Chinooks.  For the second time this season, the right fielder was named the Northwoods League Player of the Night.

The southpaw Kruczynski (4-3) threw seven scoreless innings. He gave up no runs off four hits and struck out three.

Left fielder Michael Morman (Richmond) went 1-4 with three RBI. UW-Milwaukee Panther Mitch Ghelfi went 3-5 with three singles and scored two runs.

In the second, the Chinooks put five runs on the scoreboard. Ghelfi and Ryan Larson (Florida) hit consecutive singles off La Crosse starter Kevin Roy. Both Sawyer Polen (Kent State) and Jake Noll (Florida Gulf Coast) drew walks. Roy then threw a wild pitch, and Ghelfi scored. Siddall connected on his grand slam, and Lakeshore led 5-0.

The Lakeshore offense exploded for a seven-run sixth. Mitch Ghelfi hit his second base hit of the game. Reliever Jacob Dorris issued a walk to the shortstop Polen. Ryan Krill (Michigan) had a pinch-hit single that scored Ghelfi. Polen also scored on an error by right fielder Aaron Knapp.

Morman also had a three-run double. First baseman Carter White (Memphis) drove in two runs with a double in the inning as well. The team had a 12-0 advantage over the Loggers.

Righty Mike Letkewicz (Augustana College) entered for Kruczynski in the eighth. He gave up back-to-back base hits to Jerrod Bravo and Aaron Knapp. Bravo scored on a single by left fielder Jack Meggs. All-Star Ryne Birk also had a two-run double off Letkewicz.

With two outs, Letkewicz was replaced by Ryan Radue (Connecticut). Nash Knight drew a walk and another run scored. After eight innings, La Crosse trailed Lakeshore 12-4

The right-hander Roy (3-1) suffered his first loss of the season. In only two innings, he surrendered five runs off six hits.

Lakeshore will play the La Crosse again tomorrow, July 20 at Copeland Park. Lefty Will Headean (Illinois State) will start for the Chinooks.

The Northwoods League All-Star Break is July 21-23. The team returns home to face the Madison Mallards on Thursday, July 24 (6:35 p.m.).

The Lakeshore Chinooks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League YouTube channel<>. For more information, visit