Latest News

Published On: August 10th, 2014

The Chinooks made their way to the Lumberyard for the last two games of the regular season on Saturday. They were defeated by the Loggers, 3-2.

La Crosse right-hander Mark Ecker (2-1) tossed six solid innings. He gave up two runs off five hits and struck out four.

Left fielder Connor McKay (Kansas) led the Chinooks. At the dish, he went 2-4 with an RBI.

In the second, the Loggers took a 1-0 lead. Designated-hitter Mitch Bevacqua advanced to first with a single. He scored on another single by Jerrod Bravo.

Center fielder Aaron Knapp singled to lead off the bottom half of the third. He advanced on a wild pitch by Ryan Radue (Connecticut). Knapp came home on a single by Nash Knight. Bevacqua also had an RBI putout. La Crosse led 3-0.

In the fourth, the Chinooks put two runs on the board. Catcher Zack Bowers (Georgia) drew a walk to begin the inning. Michael Morman (Richmond) then got a base hit. McKay knocked Bowers in with a double. Morman also scored on Sawyer Polen (Kent State) putout.

Righty Steven Piette earned the save in three relief innings. He gave up two hits and had four strikeouts.

Radue (0-1) took his first loss for the Chinooks. In five innings, he surrendered three runs off six hits.

Lakeshore faces La Crosse again on Sunday, August 10 to close out the regular season. First pitch at Copeland Park will be at 5:05 p.m. Left-hander Cody Caballero (Concordia-Chicago) will start for the Chinooks.

The team will begin the 2014 Northwoods League Playoffs on Monday, August 11. Game location and time are to be determined.

The Lakeshore Chinooks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League YouTube channel<>. For more information, visit