Latest News

Published On: October 17th, 2016


Mequon, WI – Last week, the Chinooks front office and coaching staff announced the 2016 Team Award winners. Once again, players were named to four awards: the Robin Yount award, Kapco Steel Slugger award, Pitcher of the Year, and MVP. New for 2016 was our Intern of the Year award.

Robin Yount was known throughout his career for playing the game with hustle, passion, determination, and professionalism as well as being a gentleman off the field. Each year, a player from the Chinooks that exemplifies these qualities is selected to receive The Robin Yount Award. This year, two players were named to this award, Joe Duncan (Eastern Illinois) and Owen Miller (Illinois State). Duncan was selected for being the hardest worker on the team and making the most of every opportunity. Joe played the entire season without committing an error and earning himself a Rawlings Finest in the Field award. Owen Miller was also selected for his hard work and dedication to the team. Owen played every game during the first three weeks of the season at shortstop when no backups were available. Miller was also always willing to spend extra time with the fans and attend any community appearance request.

This year's recipient for the Kapco Steel Slugger award is Matt Reardon (Florida Gulf Coast). Reardon lead the team in batting average. Appearing in 34 games, Matt ended the season with 41 hits, 21 runs, and 21 walks. He also contributed 1 HR and 10 RBI's.

Standout pitcher Marshall Kasowski (West Texas A&M University) was named both Pitcher of the Year and MVP. Marshall was also named the Northwoods League Pitcher of the Year. Kasowski appeared in 12 games (9 starts) and ended the season with a 3-1 record and a 1.56 ERA. Marshall also led the team and league in strikeouts with 87. He was named to the Northwoods League All-Star Game and also named a Post-Season All-Star.

A new award for 2016 was our Intern of the Year award. This year five individuals were given the award. Each summer, over 40 interns participate in the Chinooks internship program. The award was voted on by the Chinooks front office and fellow interns. Representing the ticket sales staff was Max Greiman (Concordia University). Max spent the last two summers on the Chinooks sales staff. From the Marketing and Operations staff, Sam Aschliman (Carthage College) and Teren Schuster (Cardinal Stritch) led the Chinooks biggest intern staff. Returning for a second season with the Chinooks was Alexandra Wray (Cardinal Stritch) who played an important role in the team's webcast department. Capturing the action at Kapco Park was first year intern Katie Hanson (UW-Oshkosh) who served as team photographer.

The Lakeshore Chinooks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 23rd season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 160 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (CHC). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store and set the Chinooks as your favorite team.