Chinooks Announce 2017 Team Awards


Grafton, WI – Last week, the Lakeshore Chinooks announced their 2017 award winners for the organization’s annual team awards. The award winners are selected by the Chinooks coaching staff and front office. Following each season, the team hands out four awards: Most Valuable Player, Pitcher of the Year, Kapco’s Steel Slugger, and the Robin Yount Award.

Robin Yount Award – Jack Dunn (Northwestern)

Robin Yount was known throughout his career for playing the game with hustle, passion, determination, and professionalism on and off the field. Each season, a player from the Chinooks that exemplifies these qualities is selected for the Robin Yount Award.

This year’s award winner is Jack Dunn (Northwestern). Jack was selected for his passion for the game, playing his hardest in the 48 games he appeared in, for his leadership in the dugout, and his willingness to spend extra time with our fans, the Nook Nation.

Kapco’s Steel Slugger Award – Matthew Mika (UCF)

Mika lead the team with a .335 batting average. Appearing in 56 games, Matthew collected 74 hits, 56 runs, 5 HR’s, and 37 RBI’s.

Pitcher of the Year Award – Austin Havekost (Kent State)

Havekost appeared in 13 games (9 starts) and ended the season with a 2.73 ERA and 5-4 record.

Most Valuable Player Award – Rylan Thomas (UCF)

Thomas appeared in 56 games and ended the season with a .314 batting average. He collected 70 hits, 39 runs, an impressive 10 HR’s (3rd all-time for the Chinooks), and 52 RBI’s (2nd all-time for the Chinooks).

Rylan also had a .987 field percentage and pitched 5 innings only giving up 1 run.