Latest News

Published On: December 30th, 2019


Grafton, WI – This past fall, the Lakeshore Chinooks announced their 2019 award winners for the organization’s annual honors. The award winners are selected by the Chinooks coaching staff and front office. Following each season, the team hands out four awards: Most Valuable Player, Pitcher of the Year, Kapco’s Steel Slugger, and the Robin Yount Award.

Robin Yount Award – Daryl Myers (Benedictine College) & Luke Sommerfeld (Clemson)

Robin Yount was known throughout his career for playing the game with hustle, passion, determination, and professionalism on and off the field. Each season, players from the Chinooks that exemplifies these qualities is selected for the Robin Yount Award.

Daryl Myers and Luke Sommerfeld both were selected because of their passion and determination to improve their craft all summer long. Daryl and Luke brought a positive attitude to the team on a daily basis and were leaders in our clubhouse. They were also ideal teammates and great with our fans.

Myers was named a Northwoods League Post-Season All-Star and Sommerfeld was signed by the Detroit Tigers as a free agent shortly after the season.

Kapco’s Steel Slugger Award – Jake Thompson (Oklahoma State)

Jake Thompson who ended the season with a .355 batting average (4th best all-time in Chinooks history) including 44 RBI’s (4th best all-time in Chinooks history). His batting average was 4th best in the league which earned him a Rawlings Big Stick award which is designated for the top hitters in the league. Thompson was on the roster the entire 2019 season and appeared in 50 games while battling injuries.

Pitcher of the Year Award – Will Klein (Eastern Illinois)

Will Klein was untouchable this season in the 16 games he appeared in. He would end the season with an 0.80 ERA and a 2-2 record with 7 saves. He struck out 38 batters while only walking 8 individuals. He appeared in the Northwoods League All-Star Game in Waterloo, Iowa where he hit 100 mph on the mound. His season would end shortly after due to an innings limit with his university.

Most Valuable Player Award – Cole Barr (University of Indiana)

Cole Barr ended the season with a 35 game on-base streak and led the team in Runs (53), Home Runs (9), and Stolen Bases (23). He appeared in 49 games over the course of the summer.

The Lakeshore Chinooks are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Stars Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (MIA). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Chinooks as your favorite team.