Latest News

Published On: September 20th, 2021

Grafton, WI – The Lakeshore Chinooks have announced the award winners for the organization’s annual honors. The award winners are selected by the Chinooks coaching staff and front office. Following each season, the team hands out four awards: Most Valuable Player, Pitcher of the Year, Kapco’s Steel Slugger, and the Robin Yount Award.

Robin Yount Award – Josh Glenn (Northern Colorado)
The Robin Yount Award goes to the player who the organization feels showed the most hustle, passion, determination, a great work ethic, and was an ideal teammate. All qualities Robin Yount displayed during his playing career. This year’s Robin Yount award winner is Chinooks catcher, Josh Glenn. Glenn was on the roster for the entire 2021 season and ended the season by playing all nine positions in one game.

Kapco’s Steel Slugger Award – Jackson Gray (Western Kentucky)

Jackson Gray was awarded the Kapco Steel Slugger Award for having the highest batting average on the team.  He appeared in 56 games and led the team in Hits and RBI’s and was second in Runs and Home Runs.

Pitcher of the Year Award – Tommy Lamb (Creighton) & Mitch Mueller (Winona State University)

For this season, we have announced two Pitchers of the Year: Tommy Lamb as a starter and Mitch Mueller as a relief pitcher. As a starting pitcher, Lamb appeared and started 12 games ending the season with a 3.09 ERA. As a relief pitcher, Mueller made 15 appearances across 30 innigs pitched, ending the season with a 2.97 ERA.

Most Valuable Player Award – Jackson Gray (Western Kentucky)

Our final team award is our Most Valuable Player award for the 2021 season. Voted on by the coaching staff and front office, this year’s MVP is Jackson Gray. Gray who was primarily an outfielder for the Chinooks, appeared in 56 games over the summer. He ended the season with a .315 batting average which led to Jackson being named Lakeshore’s hitter of the year. He also had a .986 fielding percentage.

The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 265 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (LAD), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove finalist and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.