Latest News

Published On: August 9th, 2004

For the third time in his career, Darrell ?Skip? Handelsman was named Manager of the Year in the Northwoods League. This season Handelsman has led the Mallards to the best record in the league (42-21) and also to the team?s second consecutive post season berth. Handelsman also was honored with the award in 2001 and 2002 as the Head Coach in Waterloo. Handelsman added to his trophy collection this season, being named NWL Manager of the Decade as well as tallying his league record 300th victory.

In addition to Handelsman, six players were named to the post season All-Star team, the most of any team in the NWL.

Pitchers Ryan Zink, Andy Sigerich, and Ricky Bauer were unanimous selections along with positional players Chad Frk, Jay Johnson, and Ryan Rogowski. With only one game left in the regular season, the three were all among the top ten league leaders in batting average, with Johnson having the second best average in the league (.325). Johnson led the league in total hits (68) and Rogowski was tied for second in both hits (65) and stolen bases (31). On June 19th, Frk became the NWL?s all-time leader in games played (187).

Each of the Mallard pitchers selected is in the top ten in ERA. With one regular season game remaining, Bauer leads the league in wins with seven and Zink is fourth in the league with 81 strikeouts. Before an injury late in the season, Sigerich dominated the league, going 5-0, with an astounding 0.59 ERA. Sigerich did not give up an earned run until his fifth start of the season.