Published On: December 8th, 2008

Madison, WI – December 8, 2008. Two-year Mallard and current Illinois junior shortstop Brandon Wikoff has been named to the 2009 Brooks Wallace Player of the Year Award watch list, as announced by the College Baseball Foundation. The Wallace Award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate baseball player in conjunction with the College Baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremonies. Last season for the Illini Wikoff hit .369 with a team-high 12 doubles and 61 RBI’s. As a member of the 2008 Mallards he hit .310 with five doubles and 24 RBI’s in 60 games. The team intends on signing the strong-armed middle infielder who can also pitch to a contract in 2009.

Brooks Wallace National Player of the Year Award-Past Winners
2008 – Buster Posey – Florida State
2007 – David Price – Vanderbilt
2006 – Brad Lincoln – Houston
2005 – Alex Gordon – Nebraska
2004 – Kurt Suzuki – Cal State Fullerton

Stay tuned to all off-season for more late-breaking news about current and former players & promotional information.

Also, be sure to check out “Maynard’s Musings,” a blog devoted to providing fans a more light-hearted peek into the minds of the Mallards front office staff.

Visit “Maynard’s Musings” at

Latest News