Latest News

Published On: June 25th, 2023
The Thunder Bay Border Cats ended up with a split of their four-game series in Lacrosse, losing 5-4 to the Loggers on Sunday.  The Cats managed only two hits in the game, including a home run by Brayden Kuriger (Nicholls State University), his first of the season, while Carter Allen (Alvin CC) collected a pair of RBI.  Trey Lewis (South Alabama) went 1-for-2 to increase his team leading batting average to .364, which is seventh best in the league. Leading 4-3, the Cats had the bases loaded with nobody out in the eighth inning, but failed to score, and that proved costly as the Loggers scored twice in the bottom of the inning on a go ahead two-run double off the bat of Ben Ziegler-Namao (University of Hawaii).
Caleb Bunch (Northwestern State University) took the loss in relief and the defeat dropped the Cats record to 14-10, leaving Thunder Bay tied with Eau Claire atop the Great Plains East Division. The two teams will now meet over the next four days with the Cats opening a two-game series against the Express on Monday in Eau Claire.  Lefthander Evans Hendricks (Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi) is the scheduled starting pitcher for the Border Cats with the first pitch scheduled for 7:35pm ET.  The Cats host the Express on Wednesday at Port Arthur Stadium at 6:35pm to kick off a six-game homestand.
The Thunder Bay Border Cats are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rockers as your favorite team.