Latest News

Published On: October 11th, 2016

Fall league showcases the top prospects in Minor League Baseball

Rochester, Minn. – Starting today, twenty-four former Northwoods League players will be competing over the next two months in Arizona against the top players in Minor League Baseball.

Two of those players are former Battle Creek Bombers — Kade Scivicque ('13) and Nolan Sanburn ('11). Scivicque was picked up by the Detroit Tigers in round four of the 2015 MLB Draft. He is currently the catcher for the Mississippi Braves, Atlanta's Double-A affiliate. Sanburn was picked up by Oakland in the second round of the 2012 MLB Draft. He is currently a RHP for the Birmingham Barons, a Double-A affiliate of the Chicago White Sox.

There are six teams in the Arizona Fall League: Scottsdale Scorpions, Mesa Solar Sox, Salt River Rafters, Glendale Desert Dogs, Peoria Javelinas and the Surprise Saguaros. The names of the teams were picked by Major League Baseball to reflect the Southwestern desert traditions in the state.

The teams are broken into two divisions, East and West and each Major League Baseball team sends six top prospects to the Arizona Fall League. Most of the players are Double-A and Triple-A Minor League players. Each team can choose to send one player considered a Class A player.

The former Northwoods League players and their AFL team are as follows:

Salt River Rafters 

Jared Miller        Rochester ‘12

Josh Uhen        Lakeshore ‘12

Kade Scivicque   Battle Creek ‘13, St. Cloud ‘14

Josh Taylor        St. Cloud ‘14   

Surprise Saguaros

Eric Stout            Waterloo ‘13

Mitch Garver       St. Cloud ‘10-‘11

Jose Trevino        Madison ‘12

Alex McRae          St. Cloud ‘13

Connor Joe          Duluth ‘12

Scott Heineman    Rochester ‘12

Glendale Desert Dogs

Jacob Dorris      La Crosse ‘12, ‘14

Rowan Wick      La Crosse ‘11

Paul DeJong      Wisconsin ‘14

Nick Tanielu       St. Cloud ‘12

Harrison Bader   Lakeshore ‘13

Andrew Stevenson   Lakeshore ‘13

Corey Copping    Duluth ‘14

Louie Lechich      La Crosse ‘11

Nolan Sanburn    Battle Creek ‘11

Mesa Solar Sox

James Farris         Brainerd ‘11

Brian Anderson     Lakeshore ‘12

Scottsdale Scorpions 

J.P. Feyereisen     Wis. Rapids ‘12-‘13

Peoria Javelinas

Kyle McGrath    Mankato ‘12

Chad Wallach    Rochester ‘12


More information on the Arizona Fall League can be found here: Arizona Fall League



The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. The 23-year old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 160 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (CHC). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.