Latest News

Published On: June 3rd, 2019

The Battle Creek Bombers lost the first of two tonight against the visiting Kokomo Jackrabbits 7-6.

Offensive outbursts from both teams early made for an exciting game but the Bombers were unable to walk away with the win as they drop their third straight.

Kokomo struck early with three runs in the top of the first after a walk and two errors at the hands of starting pitcher Josh Hranicky and first baseman John Malcom. Battle creek responded in the bottom half of the first with two runs of their own while batting through their order.

The second inning was good for a run for each program making the score 4-3 at the end of two. The Jackrabbits added to that toal in the third with two more runs. Playing some small ball after a walk, Kokomo moved a runner with a bunt and then a sac fly.

This would mark the end of Hranicky’s night. He would finish with 2.1 innings pitched tallying one strikeout and four walks. Jordan Rhodes came into the game with runners on second and third and would give up one unearned before ending the third.

In the fourth and fifth inning the Bombers would tally three more as DH Matthew Patton put himself on third base with a triple.

The last four innings would go scoreless as Beau Bonvillan struck out six and Burrel Jones struck out four, all coming in a row.

It was the Jackrabbits closer Ryan Boyer with the final say however, as he retired the side with three strikeouts in the bottom of the ninth.

The Bombers are back home tomorrow as they take on Kokomo again to end the series.

The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Currently in its’ 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 200 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (MIA). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.