20 NWL’ers In The College World Series

The College World Series is set to begin this Saturday in Omaha, Nebraska and seven of the eight participating schools have former and/or future Northwoods League Players making contributions. A total of 20 players and one coach affiliated with nine different NWL clubs will look to take home a CWS title.
Arizona State boasts 2008 NWL MVP Carlos Ramirez (Mankato) and 2007 MVP Kole Calhoun (Eau Claire). Ramirez and Calhoun typically hit back-to-back in the heart of the powerful ASU line-up. Cal State – Fullerton Assistant Coach Brett Lindgren spent the 2007 season as an assistant with the Rochester Honkers.

All of the action from Rosenblatt Stadium can be seen on ESPN and ESPN2 from Saturday June 13th until either Monday June 22nd or Tuesday June 23rd if necessary.

A complete breakdown of the participating players with NWL ties is below:

NWL Team, Year; # Name Pos

Cal State Fullerton
ASSISTANT COACH: Brett Lindgren (Rochester, 07)
Roch ‘07; #26 Michael Morrison RHP
Roch ‘09; #33 Nick Ramirez LHP/DH
Wis ‘08; (with Santa Ana College) #40 Kyle Mertins RHP
Roch ‘09; #42 Ryan Ackland RHP

Dul ’08, GB 09; #25 Collin Kuhn OF/INF
Dul ‘09; #33 Drew Smyly LHP
GB ‘09; #9 Jacob House OF/1B

LAC ‘08; #5 Derek Helenihi INF

MAD ‘08; #5 Phil Gosselin INF
MAD ‘09; #8 John Hicks C
MAD ‘09; #9 David Coleman OF

North Carolina
LAC ‘09; #12 Logan Munson LHP
LAC ‘09; #14 Greg Holt OF/RHP
DUL ‘09; #23 Matt Harrison 3B/1B

Arizona State
BRN ‘07,’08; #22 Jared McDonald IF
EC ‘07,’08; #49 Kole Calhoun OF/LHP
MAN ‘08; #55 Carlos Ramirez C

LAC ‘08; #24 Cole Green RHP/OF
LAC ‘08; #34 Stayton Thomas RHP
LAC ‘09; #57 Andrew McKirahan LHP