Riggins Wins 2009 Home Run Derby

The Home Run Derby is in the books and Madison Mallards first baseman, Harold Riggins, is your 2009 Northwoods League Home Run Derby Champion. 

Riggins (N.C. State) has eight homeruns on the season and has already broken the Mallards’ single season homerun record.  Sending only one ball out of Port Arthur Stadium in the first round, the Normal, Illinois native tied Corey Jones of the Rochester Honkers with both heading into the second round.

The second round saw Jones (Cal State-Fullerton) lead off with one homerun to right field.  Riggins took the plate and knocked two balls out of the park on three pitches.  With encouragement from the fans , Riggins took his last five outs and had a total of three homeruns in the second round, four in the derby.

With the wind blowing in, the batters struggled but made good contact throughout the competition.  Other participants in the Home Run Derby were Aaron Gates (La Crosse), Riley Henricks (Green Bay), Ben Long (Wisconsin), Adam Courcha (Thunder Bay), Kyle Knudson (Mankato) and Mike O’Neill (Alexandria).

The Northwoods League All-Star begins at 6:05 EST.