Published On: January 4th, 2010

NWL Announces the 2010 Schedule
Teams to Play 70 Games within Division

(ROCHESTER, MN) The Northwoods League today announced the release of the schedule for the upcoming 2010 season. The League, recently expanding to 16 teams, will now feature a 70-game regular season with teams playing all of their games within their own division.

The regular season begins on Wednesday, June 2nd and concludes on Monday, August 16th. The 2010 NWL Playoffs will begin the following day with a pair of best-of-three divisional series pitting the first-half champion against the second-half champion in each division. The winners will advance to the best-of-three NWL Championship Series that will open on Friday, August 20th. The 2010 NWL All-Star Game will be played on Tuesday, July 20th at Carson Park in Eau Claire, WI.

The Championship Series and the All-Star Game will be the only meetings in 2010 between the North Division and South Division. With the addition of Willmar (MN) to the North Division and Wisconsin Rapids (WI) to the South Division, the Northwoods League now has two eight-team divisions.

“As the expansion from 14 teams to 16 teams was taking place we decided that this was the best scheduling format for the Northwoods League,” said NWL Director of Operations Curt Carstensen. “We now have a very balanced schedule and reduced travel for the teams and players.”

Each team will face the other seven teams in their division ten times with five head-to-head matchups in each half of the season. The first half will close on July 8th.

Thunder Bay and Waterloo have joined Eau Claire and Wisconsin as teams that will have a standard 6:35 PM home game start time. Alexandria will start most of their games at 6:05 PM. All other teams will typically start their games at 7:05 PM.

The Northwoods League has more teams, plays more games, and draws more fans than any Summer Collegiate Baseball League in North America.

North Division Schedule

South Division Schedule

Latest News