NWL Alumni to Participate in the 2019 Arizona Fall League

Fall league showcases the top prospects in Minor League Baseball

Rochester, Minn. – Starting this week, twenty-three former Northwoods League players will be competing over the next two months in Arizona against the top players in Minor League Baseball. Last season thirty-four former NWL players participated and six of those players played in MLB during the 2019 season.

There are six teams in the Arizona Fall League: the Scottsdale Scorpions, Mesa Solar Sox, Salt River Rafters, Glendale Desert Dogs, Peoria Javelinas and Surprise Saguaros. These club names were picked by Major League Baseball as reflective of the Southwestern desert traditions in the state.

The teams are broken into two divisions, East and West. Each Major League Baseball team sends six top prospects to the Arizona Fall League, 180 players in all. The games are played in the Spring Training stadiums used by the Mariners, Padres, Cubs, A’s, D-backs and Rockies.

How good are the players in the Arizona Fall League? The 2019 All-Star Game in Cleveland featured 43 AFL alums. Nearly 60 percent of all AFL players make a Major League roster, with an incredible 321 All-Stars, 19 MVPs, six Cy Young Award Winners, seven World Series MVPs, 99 Silver Sluggers, 88 Gold Gloves, and 30 Rookies of the Year.

The former Northwoods League players and their AFL team are as follows:

 Glendale Desert Dogs

Vince Arobio           Madison 2015

Marshall Kasowski   Lakeshore 2015-2016

 Peoria Javelinas

Nick Mears            Willmar 2017-2018

Penn Murfee         Thunder Bay 2015

C.J. Chatham        Wisconsin 2014

Owen Miller          Lakeshore 2016-2017

Jared Oliva           Wisconsin 2015-2016

Salt River Rafters

Simon Rosenblum-Larson   Madison 2016-2017

Alex Vesia                        Mankato 2016

Luke Raley                       Lakeshore 2015

Mesa Solar Sox

Jonathan Teaney     La Crosse 2016

Erich Uelmen           Eau Claire 2015

Ernie Clement         Wisconsin Rapids 2015

Greg Deichmann      Lakeshore 2015

 Scottsdale Scorpions

Mike Ellenbest        Green Bay 2014-2016

Graham Spraker      La Crosse 2015-2016

Cullen Large            La Crosse 2016

Garrison Schwartz    Mankato 2017

Surprise Saguaros

Nick Raquet             La Crosse 2016

Sterling Sharp         Madison 2014-2015

Mason McCoy          La Crosse 2015-2016

Nick Banks              Wisconsin 2014

Josh Stowers           Madison 2016

More information on the Arizona Fall League can be found here: Arizona Fall League


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, 225 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG), World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS) and MLB All-Stars Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (MIA). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.