Latest News

Published On: June 22nd, 2023

Kenosha, WI.- The Kenosha Kingfish swept the Battle Creek Battle Jacks in their double header on Thursday.

Kenosha took the first game with a final score of 7-1, holding Battle Creek to one run despite their flurry of baserunners.

For the second game, Manager J.T. Scara put Grant Siegel, a sophomore out of West Virginia University, on the bump. Siegel has posted a 3.60 ERA over 10 innings pitched. In this outing, he gave up Battle Creeks only 2 runs and stuck out 6 batters in 5.0 innings of work.

Grayson Murry took the win for the Kingfish, going 2.2 innings, while only giving up two runs and striking out 3 batters.

Kenosha was able to capitalize on the plethora of Battle Creek defensive errors made by starting first baseman, Cam Farrar. All three of Battle Creek’s errors were charged to Farrar, and one was responsible for one of Kenosha’s runs.

Two of Kenosha’s three RBIs were driven in my Blane Schmitt, a freshman out of the University of Louisville. The other RBI is credited to The University of New Orleans’ Issac Williams.

Closer Tucker Shalley came in for the final frame of play to shut the door on the Battle Creek. Kenosha held on for a victory of 3-2 over Battle Creek. This marks the first time that Kenosha has won back-to-back games in 2023.

Battle Creek will remain in Kenosha for the series finale on Friday night. First pitch is at 6:35 p.m. CT.


The Kenosha Kingfish are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rockers as your favorite team.