Published On: August 10th, 2014

By: Dylan Lee – Public Relations

Madison, MI – August 10, 2014. Today, the Northwoods League announced the 2014 Postseason All-Star Team and respective award winners. Mallards infielder Pete Alonso was named as the Northwoods League Most Valuable Player alongside Rochester Honkers Matt Kent and Kalamazoo Growlers Ryan Smoyer, who were named as Co-Pitchers of the Year. Voting was cast by league coaches as well as members of the media.

Alonso was a human highlight reel for the Mallards this summer, finishing second in the league with 18 home runs as well as tallying 53 RBI and placing fourth in the league with a .354 average.

The soon-to-be sophomore out of the University of Florida and current single season record holder in home runs for Madison was awarded the Northwoods League All Star Game Star of Stars MVP award after his 1-for-3 performance with one home run and three RBIs at the All-Star game on June 23rd. He was named to the 2014 SEC All Freshman Team after his first season at Florida, and also gained recognition after being voted to the 2014 National College Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All American Second Team earlier this summer.



The Madison Mallards are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live the Northwoods League YouTube channel.  For more information, visit

Latest News