Madison Earns Sixth Win Behind Tyler, Olmstead

Post Game 6-2 CROPPEDMadison, Wis. – The Madison Mallards side-stepped their first potential losing streak of the 2015 season Tuesday evening, defeating the Lakeshore Chinooks (4-4) by a final mark of 7-6 in eleven innings. 

With the Ho-Chunk Gaming Madison Big Win of the Night, the Mallards ran their record to 6-1 and maintained sole possession of the South Division’s top spot.

Scott Tyler (Ball State) provided the heavy-lifting for Madison’s offense at Kapco Park, going 1-for-4 with a home run and game-high four runs batted in. Jean Ramirez (Illinois State) chipped in with three hits – one of which was a double – to go with a pair of runs scored from the cleanup spot in the Mallards lineup. Cameron Frost (Washington State) contributed with three walks drawn, one stolen base – his fourth of the season – while touching home twice.

Justin Hill (Southeastern CC) received his second start of the season Tuesday night for the Mallards, striking out five hitters over 4.1 innings in which he allowed four runs. Corbin Olmstead (North Florida) thoroughly impressed in his debut out of the bullpen, striking out all six batters he faced across two stellar innings of work. Mike Kaelin (Buffalo) received the winning decision, fanning four batters with no runs allowed in the tenth and eleventh innings combined.

With their division-leading sixth victory behind them, the Mallards will turn their attention toward the opener of a two-game home series with the Green Bay Bullfrogs, scheduled for 6:35 p.m. tomorrow. Wednesday night will be Joey’s Song Epilsepsy Awareness Night at the Duck Pond, with Mallards players donning purple jerseys to be auctioned off during the game. There will also be a pre-game skydiving and tandem skydive giveaway, presented by Great Lakes Skydiving.


The Madison Mallards are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 22nd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2015, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 120 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (OAK). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website.  For more information, visit