Published On: June 9th, 2022



June 9, 2022

Zach Linfield



Mallards Rebound to Win at Lakeshore

Madison holds off Lakeshore late to snap losing streak


Madison, WI – The Mallards snapped a two-game skid Thursday night with a commanding 5-2 victory over the Lakeshore Chinooks at Kapco Park. 

Ryan O’Hara got the start in his second appearance of the season and induced weak contact in the first time and a half through the Chinooks order. O’Hara made quick friends with second baseman J.T. Mabry beginning in the 1st inning. Mabry was responsible for or took part in seven consecutive putouts including after a double from Lakeshore’s Marcus Cline. Cline aggressively attempted to leg out a triple and Mabry fired a throw from right behind second base to cut him down. O’Hara (4.0 IP, 3 H) did not earn the decision while only throwing 34 pitches. Sam Vomhof, Justin Miller, and Bryce Woody would finish out the game for the Mallards, all allowing one run a piece. Woody had an electric fastball which consistently reached 92 MPH to mow down four Chinooks in his second save of the season. He did allow a few runners to reach in the bottom of the 9th but forced back-to-back groundouts to close out the win. 

The Ducks get multi-hit games from leadoff man J.J. Rollon, catcher Josh Caron, third baseman Liam Moreno, and first baseman Christian Rivera. Javier Beal extended his hit streak to all nine games that he’s played in for Madison. Although the Mallards didn’t score more than two runs in an inning, they were able to string together hits to do just enough to fend off the Chinooks. Madison leaves 10 on base but has their second highest hit total of the season with 11. 

The Mallards return home for a two game series with Wausau at Warner Park beginning Friday night. Coverage of the game can be found under the Northwoods League Live Action tab at 6:35 PM. 



The Madison Mallards are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 280 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rockers as your favorite team.

Latest News