Latest News

Published On: October 27th, 2014


(Pictured: 2014 Award Recipient Mr. Scott Sigourney)

Students And Parents Are Encouraged To Nominate A Teacher Who Has Had An Impact In Their Education

Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.- The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters and Skyward, Inc. have partnered together again to hold an Educator’s Appreciation Night at Witter Field in 2015. As part of the evening, the Rafters and Skyward will honor an area teacher as the Skyward Central Wisconsin Teacher of the Year and create a bobblehead of that teacher to be given away to fans. The teacher who is chosen will also be invited to the Educator’s Appreciation Night and recognized on the field prior to the Rafters game by throwing out the ceremonial first pitch. The teacher and their family will receive free tickets to attend the game, courtesy of Skyward.  Mr. Scott Sigourney, of Woodside Elementary in Wisconsin Rapids, was named the 2014 Skyward Central Wisconsin Teacher of the Year.

“This contest was such a glowing success the first year with over 350 participants among area districts and we are excited to facilitate it again for the 2015 season,” said Rafters general manager John Fanta. “I would like to thank Skyward Inc. for their integral part in providing this opportunity to showcase students and educators in Central Wisconsin.”

To facilitate this exciting promotion the Rafters are encouraging all students to nominate a teacher who they feel has made a positive impact on their life and deserves to be recognized as the Skyward Central Wisconsin Teacher of the Year. Students, K-12, as well as parents and guardians are invited to participate by submitting an essay (Criteria: 300 words or less, single spaced, 12 font):

By mail to:
   Wisconsin Rapids Rafters
   ATTN: Teacher of the Year
   521 Lincoln Street
   Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494


   By e-mail to:

The essay submission should explain the reasons why the teacher is deserving of the recognition and is due by Friday, November 14th, 2014 by 5:00 pm. Any student(s) that write an essay about the winning teacher will receive four (4) free tickets to the Educator’s Appreciation Night and autographed baseball from the 2015 Rafters team!

The Rafters will announce the date of the Educator’s Appreciation Night along with a full listing of the 2015 promotional schedule in the spring of 2015.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League YouTube channel.  For more information, visit