Jack Riley Named to Northwoods League Postseason All-Star Team


The left-hander was 5-1 over the summer with a 2.51 ERA

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin – The Northwoods League announced the 2015 Postseason All-Star Team and award winners on Sunday, August 9 and left-handed pitcher Jack Riley (UConn) was the Rafters representative on the team.

Riley finished the season at 5-1 with a 2.51 ERA and was one of Wisconsin Rapids most consistent starting pitchers. The West Boylston, Massachusetts native finished with the best ERA on the team among starters and was second in wins. The lefty was a Northwoods League All-Star and pitched in the Major League Dreams Showcase at Warner Park in Madison, Wisconsin, earning the win in the second game of the showcase.

La Crosse shortstop Mason McCoy was named the league’s Most Valuable Player and Battle Creek’s Alex Hermeling was named Pitcher of the Year as voted by the League’s coaches and members of the media. The first and second half South Division Champion Kenosha Kingfish swept the coaching awards.

La Crosse Loggers shortstop Mason McCoy (Illinois Central) caps off a record breaking season in the Northwoods League with the MVP award. McCoy, a sophomore, was also a mid-season All-Star. McCoy is currently first in the league in batting average (.369), first in hits (111), and first in runs scored (79). McCoy’s 111 hits and 79 runs scored are Northwoods League records for a season. McCoy is a native of Washington, Illinois.

Battle Creek Bombers right-handed pitcher Alex Hermeling (Louisiana at Monroe) was named the Northwoods League Pitcher of the Year. Hermeling, a junior, started eight games and went 3-3 while allowing only seven earned runs over 53.2 innings. He also struck out 52 batters while only walking 12. Following his appearance in the Northwoods League All-Star game, Hermeling signed with the Los Angeles Dodgers. Hermeling hails from Northbrook, Illinois.

Both McCoy and Hermeling are among the 30 players selected to the NWL’s Postseason All-Star team. The La Crosse Loggers and the Madison Mallards lead all teams with four selections each.

Kenosha’s second-year manager Duffy Dyer is the 2015 Manager of the Year after leading the Kingfish to a tie for the best record in the league. Kenosha is currently tied with St. Cloud with an overall record of 48-23. Dyer’s assistant coach Stephen Huff earned the award for 2015 Coach of the Year in the Northwoods League.

John Pappadopolous of the La Crosse Loggers, Max Baker of the St. Cloud Rox and Shawn Murnin of the Mankato MoonDogs, were recognized by their peers as Co-Play-by-Play Announcers of the Year.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 22nd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2015, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 120 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (KC). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website.  For more information, visit