Northwoods League Alumni Taking Part in the Arizona Fall League


Northwoods League Alumni Taking Part in the 2016 Arizona Fall League

Fall league showcases the top prospects in Minor League Baseball
Rochester, Minn. – Starting today, twenty-four former Northwoods League players will be competing over the next two months in Arizona against the top players in Minor League Baseball. 
There are six teams in the Arizona Fall League: Scottsdale Scorpions, Mesa Solar Sox, Salt River Rafters, Glendale Desert Dogs, Peoria Javelinas and the Surprise Saguaros. The names of the teams were picked by Major League Baseball to reflect the Southwestern desert traditions in the state. 
The teams are broken into two divisions, East and West and each Major League Baseball team sends six top prospects to the Arizona Fall League. Most of the players are Double-A and Triple-A Minor League players. Each team can choose to send one player considered a Class A player.
The former Northwoods League players and their AFL team are as follows:

Glendale Desert Dogs                              Salt River Rafters

Dorris  La Crosse ‘12, ‘14                           Jared Miller Rochester '12 

Rowan Wick  La Crosse ‘11                        Josh Uhen Lakeshore '12

Paul DeJong  Wisconsin ‘14                        Kade Scivicque Battle Creek '13, St. Cloud '14

Nick Tanielu       St. Cloud ‘12                      Josh Taylor St.Cloud '14

Harrison Bader   Lakeshore ‘13                    Surprise Saguaros                                  Mesa Solar Sox

Andrew Stevenson   Lakeshore ‘13               Eric Stout Waterloo '13                             James Farris Brainerd '11

Corey Copping    Duluth ‘14                           Mitch Garver St. Cloud '10-'11                  Brian Anderson Lakeshore '12             

Louie Lechich      La Crosse ‘11                     Jose Tervino Madison '12                        Scottsdale Scorpions

Nolan Sanburn    Battle Creek ‘11                   Alex McRae St. Cloud '13                        J.P. Feyereisen Wis.Rapids '12-'13

Peoria Javelinas                                            Connor Joe Duluth '12

Kyle McGrath  Mankato ‘12                             Scott Heineman Rochester '12

Chad Wallach  Rochester ‘12


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The 23-year-old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 160 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (CHC). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rafters as your favorite team