Rafters Return to Witter Field After Road Trip

Rafters look to recover from first loss of 2020 versus the last-place Woodchucks 

Wisconsin Rapids, WI – The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters look to bounce back on Wednesday at Witter Field, with the Wisconsin Woodchucks back in town for the second time in 2020.

Last night was a night of firsts in Wausau, the Woodchucks winning for the first time in 2020 and the Rafters snapping a six-game win streak to begin the season. Wisconsin willed themselves to victory in comeback, walk-off fashion. The Rafters led throughout the game, with Billy Cook and Christian Sepulveda homering to push the Rafters to a 3-1 lead through four-and-a-half innings. After tying the game in the fifth, the Woodchucks walked off the game with a pair of bases-loaded singles in the ninth.

Tonight, the Rafters throw Nathan Hemmerling at the Woodchucks for the second time in 2020. Hemmerling pitched 2.1 innings against the Woodchucks on July 3rd, allowing three earned runs.

The Lakeland University junior was electric in 12 starts for the Rafters in 2019 with a 2.27 ERA. The Woodchucks will pitch Matt Taylor of South Florida for the first time in 2020.

Coverage of the game begins at 6:20pm on AM 1320 WFHR and 6:30pm on Northwoods League TV.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rafters as your favorite team.