Latest News

Published On: July 19th, 2020

Rafters enter the week at the top of the Wisconsin-Illinois Pod.

Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. – The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters (12-6) are looking to return to their winning ways on Sunday in La Crosse, in game five of the season series between the Rafters and Loggers. The Rafters propelled themselves at the top of the Wisconsin-Illinois Pod standings early in the season but are just a game ahead of the Rockford Rivets entering Sunday’s game.

The Rafters have the second-best ERA and offense in the league, outscoring their opponents by an average of 2.3 runs per game. The Loggers, second out of three teams in the WI-IL Pod West Division at 9-9, have won three straight games.

The Rafters start Spencer Arrighetti tonight for the first time in 2020. Arrighetti has been tough to hit against in 2020. Opponents have only three hits and three walks against Arrighetti, who has struck out 18 and not allowed a run so far in the 2020 season.

The Loggers will pitch Lucas Braun against the Rafters for the second time in 2020. The University of San Diego freshman has a 2.38 ERA in 11.1 innings pitched for La Crosse this year. On July 5th, the Rafters scored two runs off of Braun in four innings in a 6-2 win.

First pitch tonight from Copeland Park between the Rafters and Loggers is at 5:05pm. Coverage starts at 4:50pm on AM 1320 WFHR.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rafters as your favorite team.