Latest News

Published On: August 14th, 2020

Rafters send home Rockford unhappy with second straight drubbing on Friday. 

Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. – The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters (30-10) packed the scoreboard with 13 runs and 12 hits on Friday in a 13-4 win over the Rockford Rivets (14-23). The Rafters scored 11 runs in the middle innings to match their longest win streak of the year.

The Rafters jumped out to a 2-0 lead in the first. Richie Schiekofer tripled to center and was struck home by Jason DiCochea on an RBI single, his eighth RBI of the year. DiCochea has an RBI in each of the five games.

Nathan Hemmerling pitched five shutout innings in his seventh start for the Rafters, his longest outing of the season. Hemmerling struck out four and earned his first win of the year. Billy Black, Ethan Peters and Donovan Brandl relieved and shut the door in the win.

Andy Garriola was 3-5 with three runs scored, leading the Rafters in hits. Kyle Teel kept his bat hot with a 2-4 effort, driving in four runs. Jacob Hinderleider also was 2-4, driving three runs home.

The La Crosse Loggers and the Wisconsin Rapids Rafters start a two-game series Saturday night at 6:35pm. Coverage of the Loggers and the first-place Wisconsin Rapids Rafters starts at 6:20pm on AM 1320 WFHR and at 6:30pm on the Northwoods League Baseball Network.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rafters as your favorite team.