Rafters Secure First Win of 2021 Season

The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters (1-2) defeated the Green Bay Booyah (0-3), 7-2 to earn the first win of the season. The Booyah were limited to only two runs on seven hits.

Nathan Hemmerling (Lakeland) took the ball for the Rafters. After allowing a triple in the second inning to Nathan Blasick and a groundout to second from Nick Dangello to score a run, Hemmerling struck out six batters over five innings.

The Rafters added run support in the fourth. After a single from Blake Mann (St. Mary’s), a walk by Elijah Dickerson (La Salle) and Angelo D’Acunto (Holy Cross) getting aboard on a fielder’s choice, Garrett Callaghan (Rutgers) stepped up to the plate. He  drove home all three runs with a double off the right field wall,  the Rafters led 3-1 after four.

The top of the fifth saw bases loaded again for Wisconsin Rapids assisted by a ground rule double off the bat of Josh Nicoloff (Columbia). Hank Zeisler (Chapman) drilled a ball deep to right field and knocked in two. Two RBI groundouts extended the lead from 7-1 in what was a four-run fifth inning.

Devin Rivera entered the game in the sixth and shut the door on a Booyah comeback. He totaled five strikeouts and only one run came across through his three innings of work.

The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters will return to Witter Field tomorrow, Thursday, June 3rd,  and face the Green Bay Booyah at 6:05 PM. The game can be seen on the Northwoods League Baseball Network and heard on WFHR AM 1320.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 250 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB Gold Glove finalist and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rafters as your favorite team.