Latest News

Published On: June 17th, 2021

Wisconsin Rapids score double digits runs in second consecutive game


KALAMAZOO, MI – The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters (9-8) extend their winning streak to three games beating the Kalamazoo Growlers (5-11), 13-2.

The Rafters started their scoring in the second inning. Weston Eberly (Columbia) drove in his first run of the season with a two-out double and came around to score off a single from McKinley Erves (La Grange).

In the top of the fourth, Eberly and Erves both added hit number two and EJ Exposito (Long Island) drove home both with a double. All three hits were with two outs.

Rafters starter Matt Osterberg (St. Cloud State) allowed no hits in the first three innings, extending his innings without a run to 13 on the season. In the bottom of the fourth, the Growlers strung along three hits and cut the deficit to 4-2.

In the sixth, the Rafters got back on the scoreboard, without gaining a hit. Four walks, a hit by pitch, and an error by the Kalamazoo third baseman plated four runs.

The bottom of the sixth was Osterberg’s last and saw two of his six strikeouts. Osterberg earned his first win of the season.

The Rafters added four more in the seventh, and an Elijah Dickerson (La Salle) home-run in the ninth further cemented the Wisconsin Rapids win.

The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters play game two against the Growlers tomorrow Friday, June 18th. The first pitch is slated for 6:35 PM eastern time. The game can be heard on WFHR 1320 AM.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 250 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB Gold Glove finalist and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rafters as your favorite team