Rafters Split Home Doubleheader Against Pit Spitters

The Rafters got 12 hits in Game One and 0 hits in Game Two

WISCONSIN RAPIDS, WI – The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters (20-18) split the doubleheader against the Pit Spitters (22-16), at Witter Field, winning game one, 9-2 and dropping game two, 6-0.

The Rafters started the day, with a two hit, one run first. The second inning, saw a two-run double from Josh Nicoloff (Kansas State) and a sacrifice fly from Andrew Duran (New Orleans).

Nathan Hemmerling (Lakeland) started and threw three innings, retiring all nine batters he faced.

Cole Eigenhuis (Sacramento City CC) entered to begin the fourth, and after loading the bases, allowed only one run. He totaled 2.2 innings, worked around three walks, and earned the win.

Wisconsin Rapids added two runs in the fifth, RBI hits from Sterling Hayes (Creighton) and Angelo D’Acunto (Holy Cross), and three in the sixth.

Brayden Bonner (Dixie State) got the final four outs.

In game two, the Pit Spitters produced early. After Rafters starter Jack Gonzales (Dixie State) escaped bases loaded with no outs in the second, and tossed a 1-2-3 third, Traverse City had three consecutive hits in the fourth and plated two runs.

In the fifth, the Rafters committed two throwing errors, resulting in three runs. Gonzales finished with four innings total, allowing three earned runs.

Pit Spitters starter Jacob Marcus allowed only three base runners in the first four innings. In seven innings, he had five 1-2-3 innings, including the last three. He earned six strikeouts, allowed only one walk and no hits. The 25th no-hitter in Northwoods League History.

The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters will hit the road for the first time in the second half of the season. They take on the Lakeshore Chinooks’, first pitch is at 6:35 PM, tomorrow July 8th. You can listen to the action on WFHR AM 1320.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 250 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB Gold Glove finalist and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rafters as your favorite team