Rafters Lose One-Run Nail Biter, to Start Four Game Road Trip

Lakeshore have won the season series, are 7-2 against the Rafters

Mequon, WI – The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters (22-23) dropped their tenth one-run game this season, losing 3-2 to the Lakeshore Chinooks (21-25), on the shores of Lake Michigan.

Will Haberstock (North Alabama) made his debut on the mound for Wisconsin Rapids. The right-hander struck out the side in the first inning. After a scoreless second, he ran into trouble in the third. After loading the bases, Justin Olsen delivered a three-run double to right field.

Wisconsin Rapids chipped into the lead after Elijah Dickerson (La Salle) rifled a ball down the third baseline bringing in a run in the top of the fourth.

The bottom of the fourth saw the first of three Rafters relievers who kept the Chinooks off the board for the rest of the game.

Hayden Harris (Georgia Southern) went 2.1 innings, striking out two. Hunter Waldis (Seton Hall) struck out two to end the sixth after entering with runners on the corners. He totaled 1.2 innings allowing only one base runner. Brayden Bonner (Dixie State) worked a 1-2-3 eighth in 11 pitches.

Couper Cornblum (Wichita State) blasted a solo home run over the left-field wall in the sixth inning to pull the Rafters within one. But Wisconsin Rapids only got one other hit in the final five innings, an Angelo D’Acunto (Holy Cross) single.

Wisconsin Rapids in total left six runners on base and dropped their third in a row at Kapco Park.

The Rafters and Chinooks once again match up at 6:35 p.m., tomorrow July 16th in Mequon. Wisconsin Rapids will start Devin Rivera (Villanova, 4.03 ERA). It will be his tenth appearance and first start of the season.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 250 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB Gold Glove finalist and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rafters as your favorite team