Published On: October 13th, 2021

Fall league showcases the top prospects in Minor League Baseball

Rochester, Minn. – Starting this week, twenty-one former Northwoods League players will be competing over the next two months in Arizona against the top players in Minor League Baseball.

There are six teams in the Arizona Fall League: Scottsdale Scorpions, Mesa Solar Sox, Salt River Rafters, Glendale Desert Dogs, Peoria Javelinas and the Surprise Saguaros. The names of the teams were picked by Major League Baseball to reflect the Southwestern desert traditions in the state.

The teams are broken into two divisions, East and West and each Major League Baseball team sends six top prospects to the Arizona Fall League. Most of the players are Double-A and Triple-A Minor League players. Each team can choose to send one player considered a Class A player.

Nearly 60 percent of all AFL players make a Major League roster, with an incredible 321 All-Stars, 19 MVPs, six Cy Young Award Winners, seven World Series MVPs, 99 Silver Sluggers, 88 Gold Gloves, and 30 Rookies of the Year.

The former Northwoods League players and their AFL team are as follows:

Glendale Desert Dogs

Korey Lee         La Crosse 2017-2018

Lars Nootbaar    La Crosse 2016

Peoria Javelinas

Jesse Scholtens   Lakeshore 2015

Matt Batten        Thunder Bay 2015

Bryson Stott        Wisconsin Rapids 2017

Zach DeLoach     Wisconsin 2018

Salt River Rafters

Hayden Senger   Lakeshore 2016

Ryan Kreidler      Mankato 2017

Surprise Saguaros

Michael Byrne      Madison 2016

Spencer Mraz       St. Cloud 2018

Ivan Johnson       Kalamazoo 2018

Jake Means         Waterloo 2018

Mesa Solar Sox

Justin Evans         Eau Claire 2017

Brody Rodning      Eau Claire 2015-2016

Graham Spraker    La Crosse 2015-2016

Jonah Bride        Wis. Rapids/Waterloo 2015

Andy Weber         Thunder Bay 2016-2017

 Scottsdale Scorpions

Tanner Tully         Battle Creek 2014

Cole Waites          Wisconsin Rapids 2018

Kole Cottam          Willmar 2016

Richard Palacios    Wisconsin Rapids 2016

More information on the Arizona Fall League can be found here: Arizona Fall League


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 270 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (LAD), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove finalist and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.

Latest News