Latest News

Published On: October 6th, 2014


(Pictured: Keelin Rasch)

Zack Domingues From Wisconsin Rapids Tops The List With .376 Average

(ROCHESTER, MN) – The Northwoods League is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award. This award is given to the player at each position who had the best batting average during the 2014 regular season.

Wisconsin Rapids shortstop Zack Domingues earned a Rawlings “Big Stick” by leading the league with an outstanding .376 batting average. The Long Beach State Sophomore was also a mid and postseason All-Star. Joining Domingues was Rafters' teammate Keelin Rasch, who finished the year with a .340 batting average. Domingues and Rasch were the Co-MVPs for Wisconsin Rapids this season.

Madison Mallards first baseman and regular season MVP Pete Alonso was third in the league in batting at .354. Second baseman Pat MacKenzie of the Waterloo Bucks along with Zack Domingues were the only players to earn both the Rawlings “Big Stick” and Rawlings “Finest in the Field” Award in 2014.

Rawlings has been rewarding the top hitters in the Northwoods League since 2007 in addition to honoring the best fielders since 2002. To honor their achievement the eight award winners will receive an engraved bat from Rawlings. The complete list of 2014 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award Winners is below.

Position Player NWL Team College

Batting Average


Daniel Salters Eau Claire Dallas Baptist .327
1B Pete Alonso Madison Florida .354
2B Pat McKenzie Waterloo Central Michigan .374
3B Keelin Rasch Wisconsin Rapids Louisiana Monroe .340
SS Zack Domingues Wisconsin Rapids Long Beach State .376
OF Tyler Sullivan Mankato Pacific .352
OF Jordan Lee Alexandria Texas- Corpus Christi .325
OF Pat Porter Kenosha Ohio State .324

To be eligible a player would have needed to have enough plate appearances to qualify for a batting title. A player must have a minimum of 2.7 plate appearances per team game.


The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League YouTube channel.  For more information, visit