Latest News

Published On: June 29th, 2015



June 28, 2015

Contact: Nick Tirro, Director of Broadcasting and Media Relations



Rafters Split Second Consecutive Series with Madison

Rafters win streak washed away by Mallards


Madison, Wis- In a game shortened due to rain, the Rafters fell in Madison by a score of 4-0 Sunday afternoon. The game was called in the top of the 7th inning due to unplayable field conditions.  Andrew Beckwith (Coastal Carolina) was the victorious pitcher for Madison, throwing a complete game shutout for his second win of the summer. The Mallards  first run came after Anthony  Gonsolin (St. Mary’s College) lead off the third inning with a triple, and eventually scored on a Rafters throwing error. J.J. Gould (Jacksonville) doubled their lead the following inning with a solo homerun. The Mallards plated two more runs in the sixth in the 4-0 win.


Jay Peters (UW-Milwaukee) made his first start for the Rafters this afternoon. He struck out six and only allowed two runs in five innings. Beau Jordan (LSU), Brock Carpenter (Seattle), and Ryan Cleveland (Georgia Southern) all collected hits for the Rafters on the day.


The Rafters then return home for a day-night doubleheader tomorrow, June 29th against the Eau Claire Express to conclude the first half of the Northwoods League 2015 season. The first game will be at 12:05 PM with the night game starting at 7:05 PM. Tickets are available for all remaining Rafters home games, call 715-424-5400 or go to




The Wisconsin Rapids Rafters are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 22nd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2015, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 120 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (OAK). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website.  For more information, visit