Latest News

Published On: August 12th, 2018

Duluth 2B Isaacson is MVP, Eau Claire’s Slaten is Top Pitcher

Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League announced the 2018 Postseason All-Star Team and award winners on Sunday, August 12. Duluth second baseman Augie Isaacson was named the League’s Most Valuable Player and Eau Claire’s Justin Slaten was named Pitcher of the Year as voted by the League’s coaches and members of the media. Donnie Scott from Madison was named the Manager of the Year and Justin Berg from Kenosha won the Coach of the Year Award.

Duluth Huskies second baseman Augie Isaacson (Friends University) was named the Northwoods League Most Valuable Player. Isaacson, a junior, was a 2018 mid-season All-Star and was chosen for the Major League Dreams Showcase where he went 3 for 4 with a double and a stolen base. He currently leads the league in batting average at .365 and steals with 39. Isaacson is a native of New Prague, Minnesota.

Eau Claire Express right-handed pitcher Justin Slaten (University of New Mexico) was named the Northwoods League Pitcher of the Year. Slaten, a sophomore, appeared in 11 games, won a league high seven games and led the league with league low 1.58 ERA. He also struck out a league high 70 batters in 57 innings. Slaten was a mid-season All-Star selection and chosen as well to play in the Major League Dreams Showcase. Slaten is from Longview, Texas.

Mankato MoonDogs first baseman Kyle MacDonald (Arkansas State) was also selected for the Postseason All-Star Team and is currently leading the league in home runs with 16 and RBI with 75.

Isaacson, Slaten and MacDonald are among the 32 players selected to the NWL’s Postseason All-Star team.

The Madison Mallards led all teams with five selections while the La Crosse Loggers and the Mankato MoonDogs each had three players selected.

In his sixth season, Donnie Scott of the Madison Mallards is the 2018 Manager of the Year. The Mallards currently have the best overall record in the league at 48-23 and were the First-Half Champions in the South Division.

Justin Berg earned the award for 2018 Coach of the Year in the Northwoods League. The former Major League pitcher is in his first season as the Pitching Coach for the Second-Half South Division Champion Kenosha Kingfish.

Jared Cohen of the Wisconsin Woodchucks and Evan Hughes of the St. Cloud Rox were recognized by their peers as Play-by-Play Announcers of the Year.

The full list of Postseason All-Stars can be found here: 2018 Postseason All-Stars


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 200 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.