Northwoods League Announces 2022 Schedule

he 29th season of Northwoods League baseball to begin on May 30

Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League released its complete schedule today for the 2022 season. The schedule features 22 teams, with the Thunder Bay Border Cats being replaced for the second season with the traveling Minnesota Mud Puppies.


“We look forward to showcasing top collegiate athletes again in 2022, while also providing great entertainment in 21 venues across the upper Midwest,” said Northwoods League President/Commissioner Ryan Voz. “It’s a goal of the League and each affiliate to make each season an even better experience than the year prior,”


The Northwoods League, the largest organized baseball league in the world, will begin summer collegiate baseball’s most extensive schedule on Monday, May 30.


“The Northwoods League prides itself on being a valuable partner in each community while giving collegiate athletes a platform to enhance their skills,” said Voz. “The League will celebrate its 29th year of providing entertainment in 21 local communities.”


The League, which plays two halves to determine playoff participants, will end the first half of play on July 5 with the second half beginning the following day. The League will continue with the same playoff format that was adopted for the 2019 season. First and second half sub-divisional winners in the Great Lakes and Great Plains division will be eligible for the playoffs. In the event the second half sub-divisional winner also won the first half, the team in the sub-division with the highest overall winning percentage will also make the playoffs. The two playoff eligible teams in each sub-division will compete in a best of three Sub-Divisional Series. The two Sub-Divisional Series winners will then play a one-game Divisional Championship Game. Then the two Divisional Game winners will play a one-game League Championship.

The Major League Dreams Showcase will take place for its ninth year, and second year in La Crosse, on August 2. The Northwoods League All-Star Game will take place on July 19 in Wisconsin Rapids.


Full league schedules can be found by clicking view all dates at or by going to and downloading PDF versions of the Great Lakes and Great Plains Division schedules.




The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 270 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live for FREE via the Northwoods League website at For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.