Huskies Drop Regular Season Finale

Stingers come back from 6-0 to sweep Huskies.


Max Stapleton, @Max_Stapleton38


WILLMAR, Minn. – The Huskies (34-32) looked to split their series with the Stingers (47-20) in the final game of the 2022 regular season. 


Jaxon Edwards got the start for the Huskies, while Andrew Baumgart took the bump for the Stingers. 


The scoring got started early for the Huskies. With the bases loaded and only one out in the top of the first, Joe Vos hit a soft gounder to second base. A throwing error on Willmar’s second baseman allowed two runs to score for the Huskies. In the very next at bat, Jared Mettam grounded into an RBI fielder’s choice, then Devin Hurdle laced a single to make it a 4-0 game. 


In the top of the second the Huskies kept on adding on. They loaded the bases again, then Joe Vos lined a single up the middle to get his third and fourth RBI’s of the game. 


The Stingers started to answer back in the bottom of the second when Nick Terrell lined a two out double to score one, then Kyle Payne backed him up with an RBI double of his own. Josh Fitzgeraled capped off the scoring with another RBI double. At the end of two, the Huskies led 6-3. 


The Stingers continued to score in the sixth. After an RBI sac fly from Jake Entrekim, Kyle Payne lined a two RBI double to tie the game. Graysen Tarlow hit a seeing eye single to allow Willmar to take the lead. At the end of four, Willmar had the lead 7-6. 


Willmar added one in the bottom of the fifth off of a wild pitch, then one more in the bottom of the sixth with a sacrifice bunt from Dalton Pearson. 


In the bottom of the seventh, Nick Terrell stole third then was able to score on a throwing error to make it 10-6. 


The score would stay like that for the rest of the game, as the Stingers sweep the series to close out the regular season. 


The Huskies come back home to take on the Eau Claire Express in game one of the Northwoods League playoffs. First pitch is scheduled for 5:35. 



The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.