Latest News

Published On: November 9th, 2020

Jayson Newman (Cal State-Northridge) led the NWL with .405 average

Kalamazoo, MI – The Northwoods League is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award. This award is given to the player at each position who had the best batting average during the 2020 regular season.

Stingers Designated Hitter and Pitcher Jayson Newman leads the list of award winners. Newman earned a Rawlings “Big Stick” by leading the league with an impressive .405 batting average.

Rawlings has been rewarding the top hitters in the Northwoods League since 2007 and honoring the best fielders since 2002. To honor their achievement, the nine award winners will receive an engraved bat from Rawlings. The complete list of 2020 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award Winners is below.

Position Player NWL Team College Average
C Jack Thelen Kenosha Kingfish Wisconsin-Milwaukee .281
1B Tim Elko Fond du Lac Dock Spiders Mississippi .351
2B Jalen Smith Waterloo Bucks California, Davis .390
3B Brett Harris K-Town Bobbers Gonzaga .356
SS Spencer Schwellenbach Traverse City Pit Spitters Nebraska .356
INF Justice Bigbie K-Town Bobbers Western Carolina .380
OF Wyatt Ulrich Bismarck Larks Richmond .375
OF Zach Gilles Mankato MoonDogs Central Michigan .366
OF Blake Dunn Kalamazoo Growlers Western Michigan .349
DH Jayson Newman Willmar Stingers Cal State, Northridge .405


To be eligible a player would have needed to have enough plate appearances to qualify for a batting title. A player must have a minimum of 2.7 plate appearances per team game.