Latest News

Published On: November 12th, 2019

Rochester, Minn. – Former Madison Mallard, Pete Alonso, has been named the MLB National League Rookie of the Year after his success in his debut season with the New York Mets.

Starting at first base, Alonso made sure to make an impact in his debut by recording his first Major League hit on Opening Night of 2019. The momentum didn’t stop there as he went on to twice be named NL Rookie of the Month (April, June) and led all rookies in the league in RBI at 120. His 53 home runs led all of Major League Baseball, broke the Mets single-season home run record, and broke the MLB record for most home runs by a rookie in history. Alonso also won the 2019 MLB Home Run Derby with 57 home runs, becoming only the second rookie in history to win outright.

Alonso, before being drafted in the 2nd round in 2016 by the Mets, played collegiately at the University of Florida and played for the Madison Mallards in 2014.

In 59 games with the Mallards during the 2014 regular season, Alonso hit .354 with 18 home runs, five doubles and 53 RBI. He also stole two bases and walked 20 times. In the Northwoods League All-Star Game he went one for three with a three-run home run.

“[Alonso] is the most dangerous hitter I’ve ever been around,” said Donnie Scott, Field Manager for the Madison Mallards, about his time coaching Alonso. “I’ve gotten to see Mark McGwire hit and I’ve spent time around Joey Votto, but the drive and the desire [Alonso] has is unmatched. With this guy you knew something special was going to happen, and now it’s happening.”


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Stars Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (MIA). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.