Latest News

Published On: December 31st, 2013

Team Name, Manager & Renovations to be announced Nov. 15th

Opening Event

The votes are in!  The new name and logo will be announced at our Opening Event at Homer Stryker Field on Friday, November 15 (Time TBD).

Thanks to all those who sent in team names and voted! We had over 750 submissions, 386 different names, and 3000+ votes over the course of the contest!

The final five choices were:

1. The Kalamazoo Cabbies

2. The Kalamazoo Clutch

3. The Kalamazoo Growlers

4. The Kalamazoo Kangaroos (K-Roos)

5. The Kalamazoo Krakens

The votes are being tallied, and the final name will be announced at our Opening Event in Homer Stryker Field! The official date and time will be announced SOON.

The Opening Event is a free event that will introduce the Kalamazoo and Portage Counties to the Northwoods League, team ownership, and what’s in store for the 2014 season.

The event will include:

  • An unveiling of the team name and logos for the 2014 season
  • An announcement on the renovation plans to Homer Stryker Field
  • The unveiling of the teams new Manager and Coaching Staff
  • FREE ballpark foods and non-alcoholic drinks
  • FREE raffle prizes including autographed memorabilia from Northwood League alums such as Detroit Tiger’s Max Scherzer, New York Yankees Curtis Granderson, and many more!
  • Q&A and meet and greet with team owners Dick Radatz Jr., Brian Colopy and other front office staff members
  • Free kid’s games and family entertainment including inflatables, spin wheel, and more!

We would also like to thank the individuals who were the first to send in our great names. Our five finalists will receive (5) tickets to the 2014 Home Opener on our all-inclusive Party Deck (food & drink) and (5) official Kalamazoo Baseball hats!

1. Julie Flanders (Cabbies)

2. John Mueller (Clutch)

3. Joe Weinstein (Growlers)

4. Doug Farrer (Kangaroos)

5. Katie Brems (Krakens)

One of these lucky 5 will also be selected as our grand prize winner at our Opening Event. The grand prize winner will win SEASON TICKETS FOR LIFE along with an authentic new jersey, official game hat, and the honor of throwing out the 1st pitch at our opening game!

All prizes will be made available this Spring once we have tickets and merchandise available. Prizes can be picked up at our office later this spring.  Our offices are located at:

Homer Stryker Field, 251 Mills Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49048

Also, big congratulations to our other 75 prize winners! 

Alex Maki
Andrew Downey
Anthony Nacci
Austin Schrader
Brayden Earls
Brian McLeod
Brittany Brooks
Carolyn Meyers
Chris Clapp
Connor Pressey
Deborah Davis
Derek Carter
Diane Mulder
Gregg Rafer
Holly Moore
Howard Maki
Jack Nicey
Jason Laumeyer
Jay Vanbuskirk
Jeff Rebenstorf
Jerome Klebba
Jesse Brown
Jessica Bogema
Joel Krygier
Joel Mabus
John Gettys
Jose Macias
Joseph Pursell
JR Dowling
Kaitlyn Tracy
Kevin White
Kory Beets
Kris Hoekstra
Laura Volkmann
Linda Whalen
Luke Kordecki
Marc White
Mark Burnett
Mark Lachlants
Martin Markos
Marv Plementosh
Mary Aloisio
Matt Robins
Melanie Hooker
Michael Hudon
Michael Kanaby
Michelle Phifer
Mike Nelson
Mike Onderlinde
Nikki Stieber
Pat Henchwick
Patrick Bird
Raul DeLeon
Richard Fuller
Rodney Conklin
Samantha Cree
Scott Lohmann
Shawn Premer
Steven Finney
Steven Schrader
Steven Smith
Sue Nap
Susan Perry
Tim Davis
Timothy Kelemen
Timothy Kozal
Tina Smith
Todd Ide
Tom Harring
Tom Keeney
Tony Pruitt
Tony Ringuette
Travis Kiewiet
Vicky Weber
William Filber

Kalamazoo Baseball LLC is a member of the Northwoods League, the largest summer collegiate baseball league in the country. Advertising and season ticket information is available emailing us at Fans can also “Like” us on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter @KZooBaseball.