Latest News

Published On: January 20th, 2023

Kalamazoo, MI – MLB Pipeline has released their annual list of top prospects across baseball. Providing a Top 10 list, Pipeline released their top first base prospects . Two former Growlers have found themselves on this year’s list which was released on January 19th.

Matt “Mash” Mervis landed on the list at number 4. Mervis played for Kalamazoo in 2018 while attending Duke University. Mervis was named the Chicago Cubs Minor League Player of the Year after finishing the season with a combined .309 batting average | 36 home runs | 119 RBI. Big expectations fall on the shoulders of Mervis for the 2023 season, where he is expected to find his way to Wrigley Field at some point during the year.

Also making the Top first base prospect list was Niko Kavadas. Kavadas was also on the 2018 Growlers team. The former Notre Dame Fighting Irish slugger also collected a Minor League Player of the Year award. Kavadas received the award within the Boston Red Sox organization. Niko finished his 2022 campaign with a combined .280 BA | 26 HR | 86 RBI.

MLB Pipeline’s Full Top 10 list is below:

1. Triston Casas, Red Sox
2. Tyler Soderstrom, Athletics
3. Kyle Manzardo, Rays
4. Matt Mervis, Cubs
5. Jordan Diaz, Athletics
6. Michael Toglia, Rockies
7. Grant Lavigne, Rockies
8. Ivan Melendez, D-backs
9. Xavier Isaac, Rays
10. Niko Kavadas, Red Sox



The Kalamazoo Growlers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Growlers as your favorite team.