Latest News

Published On: June 25th, 2021

Photo captured by Mansoor Ahmad (Mankato MoonDogs)

By: Connor Wachtel

MANKATO, Minn. – The Mankato MoonDogs (16-8) were walk-off winners for the fifth time at ISG Field in 2021 with 5-3 victory over the Minnesota Mud Puppies (3-15), Friday. 


After the MoonDogs’ surrendered a three-run lead in the top half of the ninth, Matt Higgins (Bellarmine) provided the late-game heroics in the ninth inning of Friday’s game. Higgins second blast of the summer flew over the ISG Field videoboard in rightfield to up the MoonDogs’ home record to 13-1. 

Cole Andavolgyi (Golden West College) gave the MoonDogs a 1-0 advantage in the fourth inning with a single up the middle that scored Jack Wilson (Grand Canyon). 


In the next inning, Higgins and Adrian Torres (Grand Canyon) had knocks that each scored a run. After five frames at ISG Field. The MoonDogs led the Mud Puppies 3-0. 


The Mud Puppies battled back to tie the game in the final inning before Urps reached base on an error in the bottom half of the ninth and Higgins called game with a two-run home run. All in all, the MoonDogs won 5-3 in walk-off fashion. 

Hits wrapped up 12-7 in favor of Mankato, Friday night. Each side had one error in the contest. 


On the mound for the MoonDogs, John Lundgren (North Alabama) was the starting arm, Friday. Lundgren threw four and two-third innings allowing just two hits and no runs while walking and striking out three opposing batters. Davonte Butler (Cal State Bakersfield) got the win in the game to move to 1-1 after he pitched the eighth and ninth innings for Mankato. 


The loss went to the Mud Puppies relief arm Reed Butz after he gave up the winning home run in the ninth. 

Up next, The Mankato MoonDogs go head-to-head with the La Crosse Loggers at 6:35 p.m., Saturday at ISG Field. 



The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.