Simpson named NWL Co-MVP, Loftin selected to Postseason All-Star Team

FOND DU LAC, Wis. – The Northwoods League has announced the 2021 Postseason All-Star Team and award winners and the Dock Spiders found two familiar faces among the league’s 31 players selected for the honors.

Chandler Simpson, who recently transferred to Georgia Tech, was named NWL Co-Most Valuable Player of the Year. Simpson etched his name in the history books during the 2021 campaign, setting a Northwoods League record with 55 stolen bases. The Atlanta, Georgia native hit .377 this season with 23 RBI and 52 runs scored and was also named a Mid-Season All-Star in addition to this postseason selection. Simpson’s 77 hits and 52 runs scored this season not only lead the Dock Spiders, but set new single-season records in each category for the franchise.

Jackson Loftin, who recently transferred to Oral Roberts after graduating in three years from Sam Houston State, was also named a NWL Postseason All-Star for Fond du Lac. Loftin not only hit .310 with six home runs during the 2021 summer, but he also totaled 52 RBI and drew 38 walks, each being new Fond du Lac single-season records. Along with Simpson, Loftin was a Mid-Season All-Star, as well.

Simpson and Loftin were critical pieces in both the Dock Spiders’ first 40-win season and the team’s new NWL single-season record of 234 stolen bases, and counting. Loftin totaled 49 stolen bags to go along with Simpson’s 55.

For the full list of NWL Award Winners and Postseason All-Stars, click here.


The Fond du Lac Dock Spiders are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 250 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB Gold Glove finalist and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Dock Spiders as your favorite team.