Published On: July 13th, 2023

Franchise Record Ten Dock Spiders Selected in 2023 MLB First-Year Player Draft

FOND DU LAC, WI – Ten former Fond du Lac Dock Spiders players were selected in the recent 2023 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft, breaking the franchise record for the most selections in a single draft (8, 2022). The first Dock Spider selected this year was Ryan Lasko (Rutgers). Lasko, a member of the 2021 Dock Spiders team, was selected in the second round with the 41st pick by the Oakland Athletics. Lasko’s selection marked the highest ever for a Dock Spider, surpassing shortstop Chandler Simpson, who was selected in the second round with the 70th overall pick by the Tampa Bay Rays in 2022. Kemp Alderman (Ole Miss) was also taken in the second round with the 47th overall pick by the Miami Marlins, making Alderman the second-highest Dock Spider ever drafted.

In addition to Lasko and Alderman, Alberto Rios (2021-22), Carlson Reed (2021), Tavian Josenberger (2021), Calvin Harris (2021), Jay Harry (2021), Jake Brooks (2020), Riley Frey (2021), and Ryan Ignoffo (2021) were all selected. Of the ten draft picks, two former Dock Spiders received Northwoods League All-Star honors. Carlson Reed was named to the 2021 NWL All-Star Game and Kemp Alderman was named a 2022 NWL Post Season All-Star.

Fond du Lac’s 10 draft selections this year ranked second in the Northwoods League, behind only the La Crosse Loggers (11). The Dock Spiders ranked first in draft picks through the first six rounds of the draft, while the league saw 90 former league players selected over the three-day draft.

Since 2017, the first year of the Dock Spiders, 38 former players have been drafted including current Miami Marlins catcher Nick Fortes. Since the draft was shortened from 40 rounds to 20 during the 2021 season, the ten selections mark the most in a draft since the change. Eight of the Dock Spiders taken in this year’s draft were a part of the 2021 team, while two members were taken from the 2022 team, and one was selected from the 2020 team.

Round   Overall                  Player                                                 MLB Team                          College                 Year(s) with FDL               

2            41                       OF Ryan Lasko                                   Oakland                               Rutgers (NJ)                         2021

2            47                       OF Kemp Alderman                          Miami                                   Ole Miss                                2022

3            79                       C Alberto Rios                                    Los Angeles-AL                   Stanford (CA)                      2021, 2022

3           100                     OF Tavian Josenberger                   Baltimore                              Arkansas                               2021

4           104                     RHP Carlson Reed                            Pittsburgh                             West Virginia                      2021

4           116                      C Calvin Harris                                   Chicago-AL                          Ole Miss                               2021

6           177                      INF Jay Harry                                     Minnesota                            Penn State                           2021

11          323                      RHP Jake Brooks                               Miami                                   UCLA                                    2020

19          579                      RHP Riley Frey                                  Atlanta                                  Wisconsin-Milwaukee      2021

20          593                     RHP/INF/OF Ryan Ignoffo            Miami                                   Eastern Illinois                   2021

The Fond du Lac Dock Spiders are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Dock Spiders as your favorite team.

Latest News